jump to navigation

Captured OMG OMG what do we do next! July 16, 2008

Posted by kittyadventures in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Okay for those who may or may not be wondering, Bongo the little stray half feral kitty who has been hanging around and getting food at my house has been captured or in his mind catnapped!

Here is a quick update on happenings!

I have been feeding him once a day and getting him closer and closer to coming into the house in order to catch him… I know I could have done one of those cage things but we are going to try to tame him enough for getting to the vet..
Any way last week he finally made it into the house tentatively and he has started showing up at the back door in the mornings now for a bite of breakfast.

so last night I lured him in and he ate his food and then started to kind of nose around then out he went again.
This morning he showed up at the door and I let him in to get food and he ate that and could smell more food in the laundry room so he ventured in there to get more
I conveniently closed the sliding door effectively trapping him in the house… BIG MISTAKE! He then proceeded to go   cat  scared silly! Hurling himself at the sliding glass door  frantically running back and forth jumping on the counters hoping to escape out the windows. Poor Poor little scared kitty.

I let him calm down and set up the spare room to be a kitty safe quiet place added food, water and litter box .. All the accoutrement's of home and then proceeded to try to pick up the kitty ! MISTAKE TWO.
Kitty goes crazy again.
HE can easily jump seven feet high by the way and found his way to the top of my blinds on the sliding glass door.
I am now shaking and sick at heart for Bongo because He has been getting closer and closer to me each time I feed him!.

I stop and let everyone calm down… I need a new plan of attack !
So I make sure all doors to every other room are closed and get the broom to encourage him off the blinds
HE goes down and starts again hurling himself at the sliding glass door to get out.

Finally as if he knows it is what I want he runs into the spare room I close the door on him and all is quiet. I will leave him in peace in there for the rest of the day and tonight I will attempt to go in and see if he is back to his cheerful self

I realize I need to do this, he needs to go to the vet and get his shots, check for a micro chip and get snipped if he isn't already, but I have seen no evidence of man cat parts yet so I think he has already been fixed.  I am also certain he was someone else's pet before and that he has gotten lost. So I am hoping either to get him home to his family or make sure he is safe with us.

End results of our little ruckus; one cat locked in spare room, half of my plants in the dinning room are spilled on the floor and Bongo may never trust me again…  Goes to call vet and set up appointment.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments»

1. Aubrey - July 16, 2008

I think the quiet time is a good idea; but you must be careful! Kitteh bites and scratches can be very serious.
That being said, this is a very fine looking cat, and I hope the rest of your day is calmer and less plant destructive!

2. oaklandcat - July 16, 2008

Sounds a bit traumatic for all involved. I think he will forgive you though, when it's dinnertime. Keep us posted…

3. Cap'n Stephel - July 16, 2008

Wow, you guys have had an interesting few hours. Good luck and stay calPr

4. mariser - July 16, 2008

I can't believe you got him inside. !yay!… but I don't know what to do next…if he used to be a housecat he will use the litterbox, no problem. may take him several days to get used to you.maybe you can toss in a few used towels so he gets accustomed to your smell?best of lucks. Bongo is a very handsome kitty.

5. Bugmom - July 16, 2008

Excellent work Annie!! I'm with Metsie…..throw in something with your scent on it…and maybe a few treats? You are such a kind hearted a loving peep. ♥

6. Cyanide - July 16, 2008

Eep! I hope he trusts you again!! He definately looks like a boy doesn't he? The face, the shape of the snout. Very handsome

7. jaypo - July 16, 2008

He's a beautiful kitty… and lucky to have you look out for him. I hope things go well for his first doctor's visit.

8. metsakins - July 19, 2008

UPDATEs please?

9. LBeeeze - July 22, 2008

He's so pretty !!


Leave a Reply

