jump to navigation

Visit from a gopher snake August 29, 2007

Posted by kittyadventures in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

 

I was cleaning my flower garden the other day when I cam upon a beautiful creature…. It lay silently watching me. As still as possible hoping I would not come too close to it. I was hoeing with a scuffle hoe and happened to look at it just right and thankfully see it before I actually rammed it with the hoe. Now you may not think snakes are beautiful… and I admit I am not one for keeping them around as a pet but when I find a gopher snake in my garden I thrill. Why you may ask… because I live on an acre and we are plagued by pocket gophers. They eat expensive landscape dig furiously in your garden eat your vegitables and generaly tear up your lawn and gardens. Gopher snakes eat gophers.. They have become one of my best allies in my garden.

So without further ado meet my newest friend…

 This one was as close as I could get without disturbing the snake. He was actually pretty small I think only about 2 and a half feet just short of a meter.

 

As you can see he is almost perfectly camoflaged. I am kneeling down to take this photo and I am about three or four feet from the snake. Not to worry gopher snakes are very gentle docile snakes.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments»

1. Cyanide - August 28, 2007

He looks exactly like Kazi's leash. Wouldn't want to get the two mixed up though!

2. Annie - August 28, 2007

Oh no definaltely don't want to mix up snakes and leads. HE was actually a bit thicker than a lead I think a teen and when I was looking closely at the photo I noticed he was actually just at the begining of a shed stag. THey get to be a bout 6 feet long fully grown. Not as big as king snakes but big enough.

3. oaklandcat - August 28, 2007

Go snake go! Kill those gophers!

4. Metz - August 29, 2007

Yay snakes. LUrves somessnakes

5. Laney - August 29, 2007

Nice! We don't have snakes here, just those tiny grass snakes, which in French have a totally different name (Couleuvre instead of serpent)

6. Annie - August 29, 2007

Ohhh a garter snake we used to have those where I lived in Michigan. They are a nice one to have in your garden too.

7. Metz - August 29, 2007

I usta catch garter snakes all the time when I was a kid. That and turtles.
Funny huh? askeerd of bugs & bats but not snakes. go figure.

8. Laney - August 29, 2007

I used to catch them too, and frogs too. But no turtles, I never saw them. And if I was very fast, I could catch tiny crayfish.

9. Annie - August 29, 2007

Mine was turtles and frogs. I was always afraid of snakes till I got all grown up.
We used to catch them in the creek

10. kRista - September 4, 2007

I am not afraid of snakes on principle, but if I was hoeing, I wouldn't know what kind this was, and I would have screamed like a little girl and gone to get CBD to save me:) Sounds like what we need in our yard tho- the rodents eat everything that the deer don't eat, poor things.


Leave a Reply

